One-Day Marriage Officiant Certification
The One-Day Marriage Officiant Certification program allows a family member or friend to perform a civil marriage ceremony for any couple within the State of Rhode Island. This program is not for use by clergy of any denomination, including ministers who have been ordained online, or by other persons empowered to perform marriages under R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-3-5.
How does this work?
Click here to explore our FAQs.
Become an Officiant
To use the One-Day Marriage Officiant Certificate program, the wedding ceremony must be performed in a city or town in Rhode Island. Neither the officiant nor the parties to be married are required to be Rhode Island residents. Learn more about marriage requirements in RI and explore our FAQs.
Officiants must be:
- At least 18 years old; and
- Not empowered in any other way to perform marriage ceremonies. If you have been ordained online, you are already permitted to perform religious ceremonies in Rhode Island and are not eligible to become a One-Day Officiant.
Ready to apply? Follow these steps:
Up to three months before the ceremony, the couple can apply for a marriage license from the appropriate City/Town Clerk’s office. You will need to enter all the same information from the marriage license on the application to become an officiant. It’s best practice to have a copy of the marriage license on hand when applying to ensure that the information matches. To learn more about the information required on the application, review regulation 100-RICR-30-00-3, One Day Marriage Officiant Certification.
Click “Get started now” below to begin the application process. You can choose to pay for your application online ($22) or by mail ($25).
Your application may take up to 5 business days to process. Once your application is approved, you will receive a Certificate Authorizing the Solemnization of Marriage by email from [email protected]. The Certificate will be attached to the email as a PDF and may be flagged by your email client. Be sure to check your spam/junk folder when searching for the approval email.
Perform the marriage ceremony and complete the marriage license, indicating that you performed a civil ceremony, and enter the certificate number from the Certificate Authorizing the Solemnization of Marriage in the appropriate space on the license. Click here for guidance on filling out the marriage license.
Within 72 hours of performing the ceremony, return the completed marriage license and the Certificate Authorizing the Solemnization of Marriage to the City/Town Clerk’s office that issued the marriage license.