Apply for or Update a Commission

Any commissioned Justice of the Peace in Rhode Island must understand the powers and duties of the office. Justices of the Peace are issued four-year commissions. Justices of the Peace do not have the power to perform marriage ceremonies in Rhode Island.

Apply for a commission


Know the requirements

Justices of the Peace must:

  • Be 18 years of age
  • Speak, read and write the English language
  • Have sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties of the office
  • Be a Rhode Island resident *

*Attorneys and CPAs in good standing with the RI Bar Association or RI Board of Accountancy are exempt from the residency requirement.

Know your powers and duties

All applicants are required to know the powers and duties of the office of Justice of the Peace. Before you submit your application, you should review R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-30 and the Justice of the Peace Toolkit.


Fill out and print the Justice of the Peace Application. Please note: 

  • Both pages of the form must be completed.
  • Photocopies are not acceptable.
  • All signatures on the form must be original (digital signatures are not acceptable).
  • You must appear before a RI Notary Public or RI Justice of the Peace who will administer the Oath of Office and complete the notarial certificate.

The non-refundable fee to apply is $80.

Your check or money order should be made payable to RI Department of State.


Mail or bring your application to:

RI Department of State
Business Services Division/Notary
148 West River Street
Providence, RI 02904

We cannot accept applications via email.

Once your completed application is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days and then your commission will be mailed to the address on the application. If you do not receive your commission or need a duplicate copy, contact us at [email protected].

; ;