Apply for a New Commission

A notary public’s most important responsibility is to prevent fraud. All commissioned notaries must be aware of the powers and duties of the office. In RI, notaries public are issued four-year commissions.


Know the Requirements

RI notaries public must:

  • Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in this state*;
  • Be able to read and write English;
  • Not be disqualified to receive a commission under RIGL § 42-30.1-16; and
  • Demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties of the office.

*Attorneys and CPAs in good standing with the RI Bar Association or RI Board of Accountancy are exempt from the residency requirement.

Know Your Powers and Duties

All applicants are required to know the powers and duties of the Office of Notary Public.  Before you submit your application, you should:

Find a RI Notary

You must appear before a RI Notary Public to take the Oath of Office. Click here to find a RI Notary Public.


Fill out and print the  Notary Application form. Please note:


The non-refundable fee to apply is $80. Your check or money order should be payable to RI Department of State.


Mail or bring your application to: 

RI Department of State 
Business Services Division/Notary
148 West River Street 
Providence, RI 02904

We cannot accept applications via email.

Once your completed application is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days. Your commission certificate will be mailed to the address on the application. If you do not receive your commission certificate or need a duplicate copy, contact us at [email protected].


Quick Reference Guide for RI Notaries Public

The Rhode Island Department of State does not sell or issue notary tools.

Notary Stamp

All RI notaries are required to use an inked notary stamp. Your stamp must:

  • be inked;
  • be round (circular) or rectangular;
  • have an edge border;
  • contain your name exactly as it appears on your commission;
  • contain the words “Notary Public”; and
  • contain the words “Rhode Island”.

You can purchase a stamp from office supply retailers in person or online.

Journal of Notarial Acts

Although a notary journal is not required by law, it is strongly suggested that you use one. A journal is a permanently bound book that creates and preserves a chronological record of notarial acts you perform. It is a vital tool you can use for reference in the event a complaint is filed against you or you are called to testify to the details of a notarial ceremony.

You can purchase a notary journal from office supply retailers in person or online.

Did you know?

RI attorneys and CPAs can earn two continuing education credits by attending our free notary public training.