Know
Your Rights

The right to vote is one of the most important rights we have as
American citizens and Rhode Islanders. If you are a citizen and at
least 18 years of age, you have the right to vote in the upcoming
November 2020 election. Every vote counts in our democracy and
the Attorney General’s Office and the Secretary of State’s Office are
committed to protecting your right to vote.

We created this guide to help you understand your rights as a voter
and where to go for help between now and Election Day.

You have the right to vote without pressure or intimidation

It is illegal under Rhode Island law to intimidate voters either inside or outside
of polling places, or near ballot drop boxes. Intimidating behavior can include
words or actions. It is also illegal for anyone to block or attempt to block, by
any means, the entrance to a polling place or ballot drop box. Intimidating
behavior should be reported immediately using the Attorney General’s online
complaint form or by calling the Secretary of State’s Voter Information Hotline
by dialing 2-1-1, then pressing 9.

If you witness what you believe to be election-related misconduct, email the
Attorney General’s Office at voting@riag.ri.gov.

We are committed to protecting
your right to vote and participate
in our democratic process.
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You have the right to vote in person before Election Day

In the 20 days leading up to Election Day—October 14 through November 2—
you can vote in person at your city or town hall for any reason during their
regular business hours. Early in-person voting is similar to voting at a polling
place and may be a good option for you if you are unable to vote at your usual
polling place on Election Day or if you have run out of time to request a mail
ballot. No excuse is required to vote early in person.

You have the right to vote in person at your designated polling place on
Election Day—even as Rhode Island continues to limit public gatherings
and promote social distancing to stop the spread of COVID-19

You can still vote in person at your designated polling place. Many polling
places have changed. You can check your polling place by visiting the Secretary
of State’s Voter Information Center.

You have the right to vote by mail by completing a mail ballot application

All voters can vote by mail. In filling out a mail ballot application, it’s enough for
you to say that you may not be able to vote at your designated polling place on
Election Day. No other reason is required. You should send your mail ballot
application by October 6 for it to be received by the 4 p.m. October 13 deadline
and mail your voted mail ballot by October 27 to ensure it arrives by 8 p.m. on
Election Day. Alternatively, you can drop off your mail ballot at the Board of
Elections or find a 24-hour drop box location here. Drop boxes will also be
available at all polling places on Election Day. You can track the status of your
mail ballot using the Secretary of State’s tracking system.

You have the right to submit your mail ballot without the signature of
witnesses or a notary

In previous elections, voters submitting a mail ballot were required to have the
mail ballot envelope signed by two witnesses or a notary. In light of COVID-19,
pursuant to a court order and for these 2020 elections only, there are no
witness or notary requirements to vote a mail ballot.
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You have the right to bring one of many different photo IDs to identify
yourself at your polling place

Rhode Island law requires voters to provide photo identification at their polling
place. You can bring any one of the following documents with a photo, as long
as they are not more than six months expired: 1) Rhode Island driver’s
license/permit, 2) Rhode Island voter ID card, 3) U.S. Passport, 4) ID card issued
by any federally recognized tribal government, 5) ID card issued by a U.S.
educational institution, 6) U.S. military ID card, 7) ID card issued by U.S.
government or State of Rhode Island (RIPTA bus pass, etc.), 8) government-
issued medical card.

You have the right to request a provisional ballot if you are a registered
voter and your name is not on the voter list at your designated polling
place, or if you don’t have an acceptable photo ID

If you are a registered voter, you have the right to vote at the polls on Election
Day, even if your name cannot be found on the voter list when you arrive at
your designated polling place. You can request a provisional ballot, which will
be counted once your local board of canvassers confirms your eligibility. You
may also vote a provisional ballot if you do not have an acceptable form of
photo identification.

You have the right to register to vote on Election Day and vote for
president and vice president

If you missed the October 4 voter registration deadline, you can register to
vote on Election Day, but you will only be able to vote for president and vice
president. You will not be able to vote in any state, local, or other federal races.
You can only register and vote on Election Day at the location designated by
your local board of canvassers.
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You have the right to vote as soon as you are released from prison and you
may also vote while you have been charged with a crime, are awaiting
trial, sentencing, or incarceration

For those Rhode Islanders who were unable to vote while imprisoned for a
felony conviction, Rhode Island law restores your right to vote as soon as you
leave prison. If you are sentenced to home confinement, probation, or parole,
you are eligible to vote as are those Rhode Islanders that have been charged
with a crime and are awaiting trial, sentencing, or incarceration.

You have the right to bring someone with you to the polls

You can bring someone to your polling place to help you vote if you require
assistance. This person will be able to go to the voting booth with you to help
you vote. Children under 18 can also accompany you.

You have the right to fix your mail ballot or mail ballot application if it is
rejected

If your mail ballot or mail ballot application is rejected, you will receive a letter
from your local board of canvassers or the Board of Elections that tells you how
to fix the ballot or ballot application.

You have the right to accessible voting if you have a disability

On Election Day, each polling place will have at least one handicapped-accessible
voting booth designated for priority use by voters over 65 years of age or who
are disabled. Voters who have a medical disability that would cause the voter to
experience severe discomfort by standing in line will be allowed to move to the
front of the line.

Polling places will also be equipped with a sheet magnifier to assist voters who
are visually impaired. Visit the Secretary of State’s site for more information
about accessible voting, including how to cast your ballot using AutoMark
equipment.
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