
How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “View PDF” to view and print the record
                  

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $50 for business corporations, limited 

partnerships and limited liability companies or $20 for 
non-profit corporation, payable either by mail via check 
made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services 
Division, 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, Providence, RI 
02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-3040 for further 
information.

Instructions for Filing
Application for Reservation of Entity Name
Section 7-1.2-403, 7-13-3, 7-16-10 and 7-6-11.1 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision. This form and 
the information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

FORM 620 - Revised:  08/2020

How to complete the form:
	 Only persons intending to organize a RI business 

corporation, limited partnership, limited liability 
company or non-profit corporation, or intending 
to qualify a foreign entity (out-of-state) to transact 
business in RI, or any such entity which intends 
to change its name may reserve a name using this 
reservation form. 

	 The name is reserved for a period of 120 days and 
can ONLY be refiled once the original reservation has 
expired.**

	
1.	 List the name to be reserved. Your entity name must be 

distinguishable from any name on file in this office. You 
may check name availability on our website; however, 
this does not ensure the name will still be available upon 
filing.

2.	 Check one box only indicating for what entity type the 
name is being reserved.

3.	 The name reservation will be recorded exclusively in the 
name of the applicant. The right to the exclusive use of 
a specified entity name so reserved may be transferred 
to any other person by filing in the office of the RI 
Department of State a notice of the transfer, executed 
by the applicant for whom the name was reserved, 
specifying the name and address of the transferee, and 
paying the appropriate fee.

4.	 List the name and address of the applicant.   
5.	 The applicant MUST sign and date this form.

	 **Please Note: ONLY limited partnerships have a 
provision for renewal of a name reservation. Once having 
reserved the name of a limited partnership, the same 
applicant may NOT again reserve the same name until 
more than 60 days after the expiration. The filing fee for 
renewing a limited partnership name is $75.  

All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods 
including, without limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-403.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-3.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-10.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-6/7-6-11.1.HTM
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/name-availability-guidelines
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM


The undersigned applicant applies for reservation of the following entity name for a non-renewable 
period of 120 days from the date of this filing (other than as provided under RIGL 7-13-3):
1. The name to be reserved is: 

2. The name is being reserved for the entity type listed below:
           Business Corporation (including Professional and Foreign Corporations) RIGL 7-1.2-403

           Limited Partnership (including Foreign Limited Partnerships) RIGL 7-13-3

           Limited Liability Company (including Foreign Limited Liability Companies) RIGL 7-16-10

           Non-Profit Corporation (including Foreign Non-Profit Corporations) RIGL 7-6-11.1

3. The name reservation will be recorded exclusively in the name of the applicant. The right to the exclusive use of a 
specified entity name so reserved may be transferred to any other person by filing in the office of the RI Department 
of State a notice of the transfer, executed by the applicant for whom the name was reserved, specifying the name and 
address of the transferee, and paying the appropriate fee.
4. List the Name of Applicant:

Address:

City/Town: State: Zip Code:

Under penalty of perjury, I declare and affirm that the information contained herein is true and correct.

Submitted by: 

Address: 

City/Town: State: Zip Code:

Signature of Authorized Person Date

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Application for Reservation of Entity Name
DOMESTIC or FOREIGN Business Corporation, Limited Partnership,                
Limited Liability Company or Non-Profit Corporation
        Business Corporation Filing Fee: $50.00                 Limited Partnership Filing Fee: $50.00
        Limited Liability Company Filing Fee: $50.00          Non-Profit Corporation Filing Fee: $20.00

MAIL TO:
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 
Website: www.sos.ri.gov 

FORM 620 - Revised:  08/2020

If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-3.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-403.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-3.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-10.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-6/7-6-11.1.HTM


If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 620 - Revised:  08/2020

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Filer Contact Information

Name: Date:

Proposed Entity Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number: 

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this          
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.
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