
How to complete the form:
Corporations and Limited Liability Companies: Before 
submitting this form, ensure your entity has filed its final 
tax return and is in good standing with the RI Division of 
Taxation. You can confirm your tax status at taxportal.ri.gov 
or contact the Division of Taxation at tax.ri.gov or (401) 574-
8941.

Limited Partnerships: Obtain a Letter of Good Standing 
(LOGS) issued by the RI Division of Taxation for the purpose 
of cancellation or conversion to a non-Rhode Island entity. 
You may contact the Division of Taxation at tax.ri.gov or 
(401) 574-8941.

1.	 List the entity’s ID number. The ID number can be found 
by looking up your entity in the Corporate Database.

2.	 List the full name of the converting entity. Existing entity 
names can be verified through our Corporate Database.

3.	 The converting entity was formed under the laws of the 
State of Rhode Island.

4.	 List the date of formation.
5.	 List the state or country to which the entity is converting.
6.	 Check the box to indicate to which structure the entity is 

converting.
7.	 List the name of the entity following the conversion.
8.	 The conversion has been approved in the manner 

provided for in RIGL § 7-1.2-1008, 7-13-8.2, and
	 7-16-5.2(e).
9.	 The converting entity revokes the authority of its 

registered/resident agent to accept service of process 
and consents that service of process in any action, suit, 
or proceeding based upon any cause of action arising in 
RI during the time the entity was authorized to transact 
business in RI may subsequently be made on the 
entity by service on the RI Secretary of State, and the 
converting entity irrevocably appoints the Secretary of 
State as its agent to accept such service of process.

10.	List the address to which the Secretary of State may mail 
a copy of any process against the entity. 

11.	Check “Date received” unless you prefer that the 
Certificate go into effect at a later date than when it is 
received in this office. Any later date selected may not be 
more than 90 days in the future.

Instructions for Filing
Application for Certificate of Conversion to a Non-Rhode Island Entity
Section 7-1.2-1007, 7-13-8.2, and 7-16-5.2(e) of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision. This form and the 
information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.
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All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods 
including, without limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $50, payable either by mail via check 

made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services 
Division located at 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, 
Providence, RI 02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-
3040 for further information.

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your 
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of the entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to the entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “View PDF” to view and print the record                    

12. Corporations and limited liability companies must certify 
that the entity has confirmed with the RI Division of 
Taxation that all taxes have been paid. Verify your tax 
status through the Tax Portal: taxportal.ri.gov.

      Limited Partnerships must attach a Letter of Good 
Standing issued by the RI Division of Taxation.

13.	ALL entities involved MUST sign and date the form.	

**	 The Certificate of Conversion MUST be signed by one 
or more persons authorized to act on behalf of the ‘other 
entity’ or by one or more partners authorized to act 
on behalf of the general partnership or limited liability 
partnership or by one or more persons authorized to 
sign the Certificate of Conversion on behalf of the limited 
liability company or business corporation.

http://taxportal.ri.gov
http://tax.ri.gov
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-1008.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-8.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-5.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/INDEX.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-1007.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-8.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-5.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http:// taxportal.ri.gov


1. Entity ID Number: 2. The full name of the converting entity is:

3. It is formed under the state of: 4. The date of formation is:

5. The jurisdiction to which the entity is converting:

6. The structure of the converted entity will be:  CHECK ONE BOX ONLY
         Business Corporation

         Partnership (General, Limited or Limited Liability)

         Limited Liability Company

         Sole Proprietorship

         “Other Entity”

7. The name of the entity following the conversion is:

8. This conversion has been approved in the manner provided for in RIGL 7-1.2-1008, 7-13-8.2, and 7-16-5.2.

9. The converting entity revokes the authority of its registered/resident agent in this state to accept service of process, 
and consents that service of process in any action, suit, or proceeding based upon any cause of action arising in this state 
during the time the entity was authorized to transact business in this state may subsequently be made on the entity by 
service thereof on the Secretary of State of the State of Rhode Island, to which the converting entity irrevocably appoints 
the Secretary of State as its agent to accept such service of process.
10. The address to which the Secretary of State may mail a copy of any process against the entity that is served on the 
Secretary of State:

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

MAIL TO:
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 
Website: www.sos.ri.gov 
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STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

Application for Certificate of Conversion to a
Non-Rhode Island Entity
DOMESTIC Business Corporation, Limited Partnership or 
Limited Liability Company
        Filing Fee:  $50.00
Pursuant to the applicable provisions of RIGL 7-1.2-1008(c), 7-13-8.2 (d) and 7-16-5.2(e), the 
undersigned submits the following Certificate of Conversion for the purpose of converting to a 
Non-Rhode Island entity: 

RHODE ISLAND

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-1008.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-8.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-5.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-1008.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-8.2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-5.2.HTM


11. Date when this Certificate of Conversion will be effective:  CHECK ONE BOX ONLY
        Date received (Upon filing)
        Later effective date __________________________

12. Fees and taxes paid:
The corporation or limited liability company certifies that it has no outstanding tax obligations. As required by RIGL § 7-1.2-
1309 and RIGL § 7-16-8, the corporation or limited liability company has paid all fees and taxes. Note: Tax status can be 
verified at taxportal.ri.gov. If the entity is a limited partnership, the original Letter of Good Standing issued by the RI Division 
of Taxation is attached hereto.

Under penalty of perjury, we declare and affirm that we have examined this Certificate of Conversion, including any 
accompanying attachments, and that all statements contained herein are true and correct.
Type or Print Name of Converting Entity

Type or Print Name of Person Signing Title of Person Signing

Signature Date

Type or Print Name of Person Signing Title of Person of Signing

Signature Date
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If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

http://taxportal.ri.gov


If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Filer Contact Information
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Name: Date:

Entity Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number:

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this          
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.
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