
Instructions for Filing
Registration of Limited Liability Partnership
Section 7-12-56 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision.  This form and the 
information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

How to complete the form:
1.	 State the name of the limited liability partnership. It must 

be distinguishable from any name on file with this office. 
The name must include “limited liability partnership”, 
“l.l.p.” or “llp”. You may check name availability on our 
website; however, this does not ensure the name will still 
be available upon filing.

2. 	 State the principal office address of the partnership.
3.	 If the partnership’s principal office is not located in 

this state, list the name of the registered agent of the 
partnership. The registered agent is an individual or 
entity that will accept all legal service for this entity. The 
agent must be a Rhode Island resident or entity qualified 
to do business in this state. A Rhode Island street 
address is required, NOT a P.O. Box. In addition to all 
legal service of process, other important correspondence 
from the State will be sent to this address.

4.	 List the names and addresses of all the resident 
partners.

5.	 State the address where the records of the partnership 
will be maintained in Rhode Island.

6. 	 Give a brief statement of the business the partnership is 
engaged in. 

7.	 One (1) or more Partners authorized to execute this 
application MUST sign and date the form.

	 NOTE: The registration shall be effective for 1 year 
after the date of filing unless voluntarily withdrawn. A 
renewal application must be filed during the 60 day 
period preceding the expiration date of the application. 
If a renewal application is not filed during the 60 day 
period, then the status of the limited liability partnership 
will expire. The registered limited liability partnership 
shall be responsible for filing a renewal application, since 
the Department of State is not obligated to send notice of 
expiration. 

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $150 payable either by mail via check 

made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services 
Division, 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, Providence, RI                    
02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-3040 for further 
information.

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “Files” to view and print the record                         

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to maintain your status:
	
	 Every entity registered with the Rhode Island Department 

of State - Business Services Division may have filing 
requirements with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 
even if no business is conducted within Rhode Island for 
a particular year. Your business may require additional 
licensing. Please visit our website for further information.

Evidence necessary for businesses      
providing professional services:
	
	 The following professionals require evidence of a current 

application with the appropriate licensing agency prior to 
filing with the Department of State.
•	 	Engineering (401) 462-9592 bdp.ri.gov 
•	 	Land Surveying (401) 462-9595 bdp.ri.gov 
•	 	Architecture (401) 462-9594 bdp.ri.gov 
•	 	Landscape Architecture (401) 462-9595 bdp.ri.gov

If the entity is engaged in the practice of law, the 
applicant must apply for a limited liability entity license 
from the Rhode Island Supreme Court within 30 days of 
filing with the Department of State. You may contact the 
Rhode Island Supreme Court Clerk’s Office at (401) 222-
3272 or courts.ri.gov.

FORM 500 - Revised:  08/2020

All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods including, without 
limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-12/7-12-56.HTM
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/name-availability-guidelines
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/engineers/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/surveyors/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/architects/
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/landscape/
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM


STAMP 
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

The undersigned, desiring to form, a new limited liability partnership under and by virtue of the powers
conferred by RIGL 7-12-56, do execute the following Registration of Limited Liability Partnership:
1. The name of the limited liability partnership is:

2. The address of the principal office is:
Street Address 

City/Town State Zip Code

3. If the partnership’s principal office is not located in Rhode Island, the name and address of the initial registered agent/
office in Rhode Island is:
Agent Name

Street Address (NOT a P.O. Box)

City/Town State Zip Code

4. The name and address of all resident partners is:
NAME ADDRESS

STAMP 
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

RHODE ISLAND

Check this box to indicate an attachment

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Registration of Limited Liability Partnership
DOMESTIC Limited Liability Partnership
        Filing Fee:  $150.00

FORM 500 - Revised:  08/2020

MAIL TO:
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 
Website: www.sos.ri.gov 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-12/7-12-56.HTM


5. List the place where the business records of the partnership are maintained; or, if more than one location for business 
records is maintained, list the principal place of business of the partnership:
Street Address 

City/Town State Zip Code

6. A brief statement of the business in which the partnership is engaged in:

                              
7. This application has been executed by a majority in interest of the partners or by one (1) or more partners authorized to 
execute an application.
Under penalty of perjury, I/we declare and affirm that I/we have examined this Certificate of Limited Liability Partnership,           
including any accompanying attachments, and that all statements contained herein are true and correct.
Type or Print Name of Partner Date

Signature of Resident Partner

Type or Print Name of Partner Date

Signature of Resident Partner

Type or Print Name of Partner Date

Signature of Resident Partner

If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 500 - Revised:  08/2020



If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 500 - Revised:  08/2020

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Filer Contact Information

Name: Date:

Proposed Entity Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number: 

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this          
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.
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