
Instructions for Filing
Articles of Amendment to Articles of Organization for Domestic Limited Liability Company
Section 7-16-12 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision. This form and 
the information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

How to complete the form:
1.	 List the entity’s ID number. The ID number can be found 

by looking up your entity in the Corporate Database.
2.	 List the name of the limited liability company. The entity 

name can be verified through our Corporate Database. 
3.	 If the entity’s name is changing, state the new name. You 

may check name availability on our website. If there is no 
change to the entity name, check the box to indicate no 
change. 

4.   If the entity’s principal office address is changing, so 
state. If there is no change to the principal office address, 
check the box to indicate no change.

5.	 If the period of its duration is changing, so state. If there 
is no change to the duration, check the box to indicate no 
change. 

6.	 If the entity’s tax status is changing, so state. For more 
information about the different tax distinctions, visit the 
IRS website. If there is no change to the tax status, 
check the box to indicate no change.

7.   If the entity’s management structure is changing, so 
state. If you check the first box to indicate that the LLC 
will be managed by its members, DO NOT fill out the 
chart. If you check the second box to indicate that the 
LLC will be managed by one or more managers, state 
their names and respective addresses if known. If there 
is no change to the management structure, check the 
box to indicate no change.

8.	 If adding or amending additional provisions, so state. If 
there are not any provisional changes, check the box to 
indicate no change.

9.	 The entity has paid all fees and taxes.
10.	Check “Date received” unless you prefer that the 

Amendment go into effect at a later date than when the 
form is received in this office.  Any later date must be 
within 90 days of filing.

11.	An Authorized Person MUST sign and date the form. 

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “View PDF” to view and print the record

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $50, payable either by mail via check 

made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services 
Division, 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, Providence, RI 
02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-3040 for further 
information.

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to maintain your status:
	
	 The limited liability company is responsible for filing an 

annual report each calendar year, excluding the year of 
organization, between September 1 and November 1. 
A courtesy reminder will be mailed to the resident agent 
prior to September 1 of each year. Be sure to follow 
up with your resident agent concerning the filing of this 
report. Failure to file an annual report or maintain a 
resident agent/office may result in the revocation of the 
Certificate of Organization pursuant to RIGL 7-16-41.

	 Every entity registered with the RI Department of State - 
Business Services Division may have filing requirements 
with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, even if 
no business is conducted within Rhode Island for a 
particular year. Your business may require additional 
licensing, please visit our website for further information.
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All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods 
including, without limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-12.HTM
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/name-availability-guidelines
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/limited-liability-company-llc
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-41.HTM
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM


Pursuant to the provisions of RIGL 7-16-12 the undersigned limited liability company hereby 
amends its Articles of Organization as follows:
1. Entity ID Number: 

 

2. The name of the limited liability company is:

3. If the entity’s name is changing, 
state the new name:
             
                                                                                                                                   Check the box to indicate no change
4. If the principal office address of 
the entity is changing, complete the 
following section:
                                                                                                                                          Check the box to indicate no change
5. If the period of duration is changing, complete the following section: CHECK ONE BOX ONLY

Perpetual (on-going)

Date certain for dissolution _____________________________                                                                                                                                                              Check the box to indicate no change
6. If the entity’s tax status is changing, complete the following section: CHECK ONE BOX ONLY

Partnership or

A corporation or

Disregarded as an entity separate from its member(s)
                                                                                                                                   Check the box to indicate no change
7. If the management structure is changing, complete the following section:
The Limited Liability Company is to be managed by: CHECK ONE BOX ONLY
        

        Its member(s) (If you have checked this box, skip to Section 7. DO NOT fill out the chart below.)

        One (1) or more manager(s) (If the limited liability company has manager(s) at the time of the filing of these Articles      
        of Amendment, state the name and address of each manager on the next page.)

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Articles of Amendment 
DOMESTIC Limited Liability Company
       Filing Fee: $50.00

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

MAIL TO:
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 
Website: www.sos.ri.gov 
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http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-12.HTM


MANAGER ADDRESS

                                                                                                                           Check the box to indicate no change
8.  If adding or amending additional provisions, complete the following section:

                                                                                                                            Check the box to indicate no change
9.  As required by RIGL 7-16-67, the entity has paid all fees and taxes.
10. Date when these Articles of Amendment will be effective: CHECK ONE BOX ONLY

Date received (Upon filing)

Later effective date (Date must be no more than 90 days from the date of filing) _____________________________

Under penalty of perjury, I declare and affirm that I have examined these Articles of Amendment, including any 
accompanying attachments, and that all statements contained herein are true and correct.
Type or Print Name of Limited Liability Company Date

Signature of Authorized Person

If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 401 - Revised:  08/2020

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-16/7-16-67.HTM


If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Filer Contact Information
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Name: Date:

Entity Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number: 

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this          
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.
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