
Instructions for Filing
Application for Certificate of Registration for a Limited Partnership
Section 7-13-49 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision. This form and the 
information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

How to complete the form:
1.	 State the name of the partnership. It must match the 

name on your Certificate of Good Standing/Letter of 
Status from the state or country of formation, which 
must be attached to this form. Your entity name must be 
distinguishable from any name on file in this office. You 
may check name availability on our website; however, 
this does not ensure the name will still be available 
upon filing. If you are proposing a different name for 
transacting business in Rhode Island, you may write it on 
the line below. 

2.  	State the state or country under whose laws the 
partnership was formed.  	

3. 	 State the date the partnership was formed in the state or 
country of formation. 

4. 	 State the specific purpose(s) for transacting business in 
Rhode Island.

5. 	 State the name of the registered agent. The registered 
agent is an individual or entity that will accept all legal 
service for this entity. The agent must be a Rhode Island 
resident or entity qualified to do business in this state. 
A Rhode Island street address is required, NOT a P.O. 
Box. In addition to all legal service of process, other 
important correspondence from the state will be sent to 
this address.

6.  	In the event that the registered agent cannot be 
contacted, the Department of State will accept legal 
service of process for the LP.

7. 	 State the address of the partnership in its state of 
formation or, if it is not required to maintain an office in 
the state of formation, its principal office address. 

8.	 List the name(s) and business address(es) of each of the 
general partners. 

9. 	 State the street address where the records of the 
partnership will be maintained. 

10. State the partnership’s mailing address.
11. A Certificate of Good Standing/Letter of Status from the 

state or country of formation dated within 60 days of the 
date of this filing must accompany this application.

12.	A General Partner MUST sign and date the form. 

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $100, payable either by mail via check 

made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services 
Division, 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, Providence, RI 
02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-3040 for further 
information.

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” under 

“View PDF” to view and print the record              

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to maintain your status:
	 Every entity registered with the Rhode Island Department 

of State - Business Services Division may have filing 
requirements with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, 
even if no business is conducted within Rhode Island for 
a particular year. Your business may require additional 
licensing. Please visit our website for further information.

FORM 350 - Revised:  08/2020

All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods 
including, without limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-49.HTM
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/evidence-interactive-map
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/evidence-interactive-map
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/name-availability-guidelines
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/evidence-interactive-map
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM


Evidence necessary for businesses      
providing professional services:
	
Prior approval required for Engineers:
	 If the entity is engaged in the practice of Engineering, at 

the time of filing, evidence of a current application with the 
Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Board 
of Design Professionals (401) 462-9592 or bdp.ri.gov is 
required.

Licensing requirements – all entities:
	 If the entity is engaged in the practice of law, the applicant 

must apply for a limited liability entity license from the 
Rhode Island Supreme Court within thirty (30) days of filing 
with the Department of State. You may contact the Rhode 
Island Supreme Court Clerk’s Office at 

	 (401) 222-3272 or courts.ri.gov.

	 If the entity is engaged in the practice of medicine (see 
RIGL 7-5.1-2 for all applicable disciplines) the applicant 
must apply for licensing from the Rhode Island Department 
of Health, Professional Regulation. You may contact the 
Rhode Island Department of Health at (401) 222-5960 or 
health.ri.gov.  

	 If the entity is engaged in the practice of land surveying, 
architecture or landscape architecture, the applicant must 
apply for licensing from the Rhode Island Department of 
Business Regulations, Board of Design Professionals at 
(401) 462-9530 or bdp.ri.gov.

	 If the entity is engaged in the practice of accountancy, the 
applicant must apply for licensing from the Rhode Island 
Department of Business Regulation, Board of Accountancy 
at (401) 462-9500 or dbr.ri.gov.

	

Instructions for Filing (continued)
Application for Certificate of Registration 
Section 7-13-49 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division
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http://www.bdp.ri.gov/engineers/
https://www.courts.ri.gov/Pages/default.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-5.1/7-5.1-2.HTM
http://health.ri.gov/licenses/index.php
http://www.bdp.ri.gov/surveyors/
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/accountancy/
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-49.HTM


STAMP 
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

Pursuant to the provisions of RIGL 7-13-49, the undersigned foreign limited partnership hereby 
applies for a Certificate of Registration to transact business in the State of Rhode Island, and for 
that purpose submits the following statement:
1. The name of the limited partnership is: 

The name, if different, which it elects to use in Rhode Island is:

2. The limited partnership is organized under the laws of: 3. The date of its formation is:

4. The purpose or purposes which it proposes to pursue in the transaction of business in Rhode Island are:

5. The name and address of the registered agent/office in Rhode Island is:

Agent Name

Street Address (NOT a P.O. Box)

City/Town                                                                                    State Zip Code

6. The Department of State is appointed the agent of the foreign limited liability partnership for service of process if, at any 
time, there is no registered agent or if the registered agent cannot be found or served following the exercise of reasonable 
diligence.
7. The address of the office required to be maintained in the state or country of its organization by the laws of that state or, 
if not so required, of the principal office of the foreign limited partnership is:

STAMP 
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

RHODE ISLAND

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Certificate of Registration
FOREIGN Limited Partnership
        Filing Fee:  $100.00 minimum

FORM 350 - Revised:  08/2020

MAIL TO:
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 
Website: www.sos.ri.gov 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-13/7-13-49.HTM


8. The name and business address of each general partner is:
GENERAL PARTNER BUSINESS ADDRESS

9. The address of the office at which is kept a list of  the names and addresses of  the limited partners and their capital 
contributions, together with an undertaking by the foreign limited partnership to keep those records until the foreign limited 
partnership’s registration in this state is cancelled or withdrawn is:

10. The mailing address for the foreign limited partnership is:
Address

City/Town State Zip Code

11. This application must be accompanied by a Certificate of Good Standing/Letter of Status from the state or country of 
formation dated within 60 days of the date of filing.
Under penalty of perjury, I declare and affirm that I have examined this Application for Certificate of Registration of a 
Foreign Limited Partnership, including any accompanying attachments, and that all statements contained herein are true 
and correct.
Type or Print Name of General Partner                       Date

Signature of General Partner

If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 350 - Revised:  08/2020

https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/evidence-interactive-map


If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 350 - Revised:  08/2020

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Filer Contact Information

Name: Date:

Proposed Entity Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number: 

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this          
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.
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