
Instructions for Filing
Evidence of Merger of Qualified Foreign Non-Profit Corporation
Section 7-6-81 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision. This form and 
the information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

How to submit your evidence :
1.   Whenever a foreign non-profit corporation authorized 

to transact business in this state shall be a party to a 
statutory merger permitted by the laws of the state or 
country under the laws of which it is incorporated, and 
the corporation shall be the surviving corporation, it 
must, within thirty (30) days after the merger becomes 
effective, file with the secretary of state a copy of the 
articles of merger duly certified by the proper officer 
of the state or country under the laws of which the 
statutory merger was effected. The certified copy 
must be dated within sixty (60) days of the receipt and 
filing of the evidence of merger. It is not necessary for 
the corporation to procure either a new or amended 
certificate of authority to conduct affairs in this state 
unless the name of the corporation has changed thereby 
or unless the corporation desires to pursue in this state 
other or additional purposes than those which it is then 
authorized to pursue in this state.

2.	 If the merger reflects a change in the corporate name 
or purpose an Application for an Amended Certificate 
of Authority must be filed. If the corporation files an 
amendment, there will be an additional fee of $25.00.

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “View PDF” to view and print the record      

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $25, payable either by mail via check 

made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services      
Division, 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, Providence, RI 
02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-3040 for further 
information.

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to maintain your status:
	
	 The corporation is responsible for filing an annual report 

each calendar year, excluding the year of registration, 
between June 1 and June 30. A courtesy reminder 
will be mailed to the registered agent prior to June 1 
of each year. Be sure to follow up with your registered 
agent concerning the filing of this report. Failure to file 
an annual report or maintain a registered agent/office 
will result in the revocation of the Certificate of Authority 
pursuant to RIGL 7-6-85. 

	 Your business may require additional licensing. Please 
visit our website for further information.

FORM 253 - Revised:  08/2020

All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods 
including, without limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-6/7-6-81.HTM
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-6/7-6-85.HTM
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM

