
Instructions for Filing
Articles of Amendment for a Domestic Business Corporation
Section 7-1.2-905 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended

The attached form is designed to meet minimal statutory filing requirements pursuant to the relevant statutory provision. This form and the 
information provided are not substitutes for the advice and services of an attorney and/or tax specialist.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

How to complete the form:
1.	 List the entity’s ID number. The ID number can be found 

by looking up your entity in the Corporate Database.
2.	 List the name of the corporation. The entity name can be 

verified through our Corporate Database.
3.	 List the date the amendment was adopted by the 

shareholders or by the board of directors.  
4.	 If the entity’s name is changing, state the new name. You 

may check name availability on our website. If there is no 
change to the entity name, check the box to indicate no 
change.

5.   If the entity is changing shares (increase or decrease), 
complete the total authorized shares in Section 5. An 
increase in authorized shares will result in an additional 
$160 license fee. If there is not a change to the shares, 
check the box to indicate no change.  

6.	 If the entity’s duration is changing, state so. If there is 
no change to the duration, check the box to indicate no 
change. 

7.	 If the entity’s purpose is changing, state so. If there is 
no change to the purpose, check the box to indicate no 
change. Applicable only to corporations formed prior to 
July 1, 2005.  

8.	 If adding or amending additional provisions, state so. If 
there are not any provisional changes, check the box to 
indicate no change. 	

9.	 The entity has paid all fees and taxes.
10.	Check “Date received” unless you prefer that the 

Amendment goes into effect at a later date than the form 
is received in this office. Any later date must be within 90 
days of filing.

11.	An Authorized Officer MUST sign and date the form.

How to confirm your filing:
	 Entity records are retrievable and viewable through our 

website. Successful filings will NOT result in a mailed 
confirmation. Filings that cannot be processed will 
be posted online and then returned. To confirm your      
submission and obtain evidence of your filing:
•	 Go to our Corporate Database
•	 Enter the name or ID number of your entity and click 

“Search”
•	 Click on the link to your entity record, scroll down, 

select “All Filings” and then “View Filing”
•	 Identify desired type of filing and click on “PDF” 

under “View PDF” to view and print the record

How to pay the filing fee:
	 The filing fee is $50, payable either by mail via check 

made payable to RI Department of State or in person 
via cash, credit card, or check at the Business Services      
Division, 148 W. River Street, Ste. 1, Providence, RI 
02904. Contact our office at (401) 222-3040 for further 
information.
•	 If this amendment includes an increase in authorized 

shares, your total filing fee will be $210.

This legal document should be typed. All illegible documents will be REJECTED.

How to maintain your status:
	
	 The corporation is responsible for filing an annual report 

each calendar year, excluding the year of incorporation, 
between January 1 and March 1. A courtesy reminder 
will be mailed to the registered agent prior to January 1 
of each year. Be sure to follow up with your registered 
agent concerning the filing of this report. Failure to file an 
annual report or maintain a registered agent/office may 
result in the revocation of the Certificate of Incorporation 
pursuant to RIGL 7-1.2-1310. 

	 Every entity registered with the RI Department of State - 
Business Services Division will have filing requirements 
with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation, even if 
no business is conducted within Rhode Island for a 
particular year. Your business may require additional 
licensing. Please visit our website for further information.
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All filings are public records under RIGL 38-2-1, et seq. This means all information is available to the public by a variety of methods 
including, without limitations, inspections at our office, telephone inquiries and electronically through our online database.

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-905.HTM
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services/name-availability-guidelines
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpreject/corprejectionslist.asp
http://business.sos.ri.gov/corpweb/corpsearch/corpsearch.aspx
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-1310.HTM
http://www.tax.ri.gov/
https://www.sos.ri.gov/divisions/business-services
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE38/38-2/38-2-1.HTM


Pursuant to the provisions of RIGL 7-1.2-905, the undersigned corporation adopts the following 
Articles of Amendment to its Articles of Incorporation:
1. Entity ID Number:  2. The name of the corporation is:

3. The shareholders of the corporation (or, where no shares have been issued
by the board of directors of the corporation) in the manner prescribed by RIGL 7-1.2 
adopted the following amendment(s) to the Articles of Incorporation on:

4. If the entity’s name is changing, 
state the new name:

                                                                                                                                   Check the box to indicate no change
5. If the total authorized shares are changing complete the following section:  *List ALL authorized shares as of this amendment.
           Total Authorized Shares                             Class of Stock                                   Par Value Per Share
            (Number of Shares)                                                                 

  _____________________________      _____________________________      _____________________________

  _____________________________      _____________________________      _____________________________

  _____________________________      _____________________________      _____________________________
                                                                                                                                   Check the box to indicate no change

6. If the period of its duration is changing complete the following section:  CHECK ONE BOX ONLY
Perpetual (on-going)

Date certain for dissolution _____________________________                                                                                                                                                               Check the box to indicate no change 
7. If the entity’s purpose is changing complete the following section:  *The new purpose should include ALL activity to be 
transacted in the State of Rhode Island.

Check the box to indicate an attachment                                                                   Check the box to indicate no change

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Articles of Amendment
DOMESTIC Business Corporation
        Filing Fee:  $50.00 ($210 for an increase in authorized shares)

STAMP
FOR

SECRETARY OF STATE 
USE ONLY

MAIL TO:
Division of Business Services
148 W. River Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040 
Website: www.sos.ri.gov 
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http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-905.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/INDEX.HTM


8. If adding or amending additional provisions, complete the following section:

Check the box to indicate an attachment                                                                      Check the box to indicate no change
9. As required by RIGL 7-1.2-105, the entity has paid all fees and taxes.

10. Date when these Articles of Amendment will be effective:  CHECK ONE BOX ONLY

        Date received (Upon filing)
        Later effective date (Date must be no more than 90 days from the date of filing) __________________________

Under penalty of perjury, I declare and affirm that I have examined these Articles of Amendment, including any 
accompanying attachments, and that all statements contained herein are true and correct.          
Type or Print Name of Authorized Officer of the Corporation Date

Signature of Authorized Officer of the Corporation

If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov. FORM 101 - Revised: 08/2020

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE7/7-1.2/7-1.2-105.HTM


If you have any questions, please call us at (401) 222-3040, Monday through Friday, 
between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or email corporations@sos.ri.gov.

State of Rhode Island
Department of State - Business Services Division

Filer Contact Information

FORM 101 - Revised: 08/2020

Name: Date:

Entity Name:

Street Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Email Address: Phone Number:

In the event our office needs more information in order to complete the filing of this          
document, we ask for the filer’s contact information. All fields are REQUIRED.
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